Austria as a wine producing country is divided into 4 wine growing regions; Niederosterreigh, Burgenland, Steiermark and Wien. The vineyards inAustria cover 51,000 hectares which, for the most part, lie in the east and southeast of the country. The most common grapes are Gruner Veltliner, Welschriesling, Blauer Zweigelt and Blaufrankisch.